How to Make Upcycled Yarn from Old Gymnastics T-Shirts

Do you go through your closet day after day to see gymnastics t-shirts from competitions 5 years ago? Do they fit? Are you going to wear it? If you are anything like me, you’ll find it hard to part with anything that has the word ‘gymnast’, ‘gymnastics’ or ‘AWESOME’ on it even if it doesn’t fit anymore and chances are you will never wear it again.

Just thinking of the numbers of competitions a typical American gymnast goes through in a season is enough to make my closet full. By the way how many meets do you girls compete in a season these days? 20?

409772227077471951_144499478

I love this headband!

What you can do is take those old t-shirts and give them a new life. Transform that t-shirt you got from that competition where you stuck beam. And by stuck, I mean rocking the life out of that routine and WOWing the judges.

I’ve been giving my old competition t-shirts (yes, coaches get them too!) a funky reincarnation and making headbands, bracelets and necklaces. If you follow me on instagram you’ll see me posting at least one of these a week. These headbands rock by the way, keeps my hair out of my face and off my neck in this tropical heat.

 

Here’s how you can transform any gymnastics t-shirt into a ball of yarn to be used for any awesome craft later

What you’ll need:

  • Gymnastics T-shirt
  • Scissors

Time

  • 10-25 minutes depending on how picky you are about cutting in a straight line

Instructions

  • Lie the gymnastics t-shirt flat or stretch it across any flat surface. I used a wicked awesome yoga mat. 
  • Starting at the bottom side, cut just above the bottom seam and go all the way around the front and back.
  • When coming around the backside begin to angle your cut so it goes towards the arm and you don’t accidentally cut the strip completely off.  I’ve done this before, you’ll feel retarded afterwards so I’m saving you a little self-embarrassment.
  • As you cut, start pulling the strips and you’ll notice it rolls up nicely so it’s not totally important to cut completely straight. This is t-shirts we are talking about, not your legs during bars.
  • Start rolling the strip into a ball as you cut.
  • Roll that baby until there ain’t no more rollin’ to do.

tshirtyarn1

 

I’ll be making some posts on how to make headbands while I wait for more supplies to come in to add some items to my shop so stick around. 🙂

One thought on “How to Make Upcycled Yarn from Old Gymnastics T-Shirts

  1. Pingback: How to Make a Gymnastics Headband | The Hand X Stand

Leave a Reply

